Back to top

Before The Dead [Limited Edition 5LP Box Set]


Format: Vinyl
Rel. Date: 05/11/2018
UPC: 880882302511

Before The Dead [Limited Edition 5LP Box Set]
Artist: Jerry Garcia
Format: Vinyl


Format and Editions


1. Santy Anno
2. I Got A Home In That Rock
3. Oh, Mary Don't You Weep
4. All My Trials
5. I Was Born Ten Thousand Years Ago
6. Traditional: Blow The Candles Out
7. Rake And A Rambling Boy
8. Trouble In Mind
9. Brown's Ferry Blues
10. Jesse James
11. Down In The Willow Garden
12. Long Lonesome Road
13. Railroad Bill
14. The Wagoner's Lad
15. Katie Cruel


1. Cannonball Blues
2. Little Birdie
3. Sally Goodin
4. Hold That Woodpile Down
5. Legend Of The Johnson Boys
6. Shady Grove
7. Sweet Sunny South
8. Man Of Constant Sorrow
9. Band Introductions
10. Roving Gambler
11. Ground Speed
12. Pig In A Pen
13. Traditional: Standing In The Need Of Prayer
14. Flint Hill Special
15. Nine Pound Hammer
16. Handsome Molly
17. Clinch Mountain Backstep


1. Think Of What You've Done
2. Cripple Creek
3. All The Good Times Have Past And Gone
4. Billy Grimes, The Rover
5. Paddy On The Turnpike - Boys, My Money's All Gone
6. Run Mountain
7. Sugar Baby
8. Sitting On Top Of The World
9. Roll In My Sweet Baby's Arms
10. Jerry's Breakdown
11. Traditional: Standing In The Need Of Prayer
12. Mule Skinner Blues
13. Saturday Night Shuffle
14. Pike County Breakdown
15. The Little Sparrow
16. We Shall Not Be Moved


1. Deep Elem Blues
2. Will The Weaver
3. I Truly UnderstanD
4. Long Black Veil
5. The Man That Wrote That Home Sweet Home Never Was A Married Man
6. Foggy Mountain Top
7. Barefoot Nellie
8. She's More To Be Pitied
9. Noah's Breakdown
10. Who Will Sing For Me?
11. Salt Creek
12. Monroe's Hornpipe - Jody's Hornpipe
13. Rosa Lee McFall
14. John Hardy/Closing Theme
15. Katie Kline
16. Walkin' The Dog


1. Paddy On The Turnpike - Boys, My Money's All Gone
2. Love And Wealth
3. Traditional: Sourwood Mountain
4. If I Lose
5. Homestead On The Farm - I Wonder How The Old Folks Are At Home
6. Stoney Creek
7. Salty Dog Blues
8. Love Please Come Home
9. Make Me A Pallet On The Floor
10. Darlin' Allalee
11. In The Pines
12. Raw Hide
13. Black Mountain Rag
14. True Life Blues
15. Medley: Devil's Dream--Sailor's Hornpipe
16. Drink Up And Go Home
17. These Men Of God
18. Roll On Buddy
19. Goodbye Old Pal
20. Back Up And Push

More Info:

Before The Dead brings together a rare collection of the earliest known performances by Jerry Garcia. From an informal and intimate 1691 performance of simple folk songs at a birthday party with future songwriting partner Robert Hunter to more polished coffeehouse gigs with old-timey and bluegrass bands through 1964, this collection showcases Garcia’s deep study of the folk music tradition and its influence on his musical journey leading to the formation of the Grateful Dead.